Let the Games Begin

Well here it goes.

My first real attempt at a blog.

Honestly, I am only starting this blog because it is an assignment for Tiffany Gallicano‘s Strategic Public Relations and Communication class because the sheer thought of it terrifies me. I don’t consider myself an expert in anything, let alone public relations.

So let’s get started with the basics.

  • I am a student at the University of Oregon majoring in public relations, advertising and business.
  • After finishing college, I hope to work in corporate PR.
  • I spent my teenage years in the Bay Area, but only after my parents decided that it wasn’t best for their children to live in third world countries for their formative years.
  • I love watching college football, playing lacrosse and going to summer baseball games.
  • I’m an officer in my chapter of Kappa Delta Sorority, which has taught me how to lead, manage and communicate effectively.

Now that the technicalities of “get-to-know-yous” are out of the way, on to the real purpose of this blog. PRactical PRofessionals is another step in my growth into a true public relations professional. Public relations is an ever changing field and there is always something to learn. The emergence and prominence of social media is transforming the way the world communicates. Publics want to engage in an honest and transparent dialogue with their favorite and not-so-favorite companies and organizations.

My goal of this blog:

Gain a thorough knowledge about public relations and its real world applications and to share my opinions about and experiences in public relations.

Leave a comment